Sunday, April 21, 2024
HomeHamiltonOfficial municipal election results are in and here's what Mohawk College students...

Official municipal election results are in and here’s what Mohawk College students and staff need to know

Last week, results for the municipal election were revealed in the city of Hamilton. The winner of the election is Andrea Horwath, who won with 41.68 per cent of the vote. This makes history for Hamilton, as Horwath is now the city’s first female mayor. 

Behind Horwath were Keanin Loomis with 40.51 per cent of the vote and Bob Bratina with 12.27 per cent.

“I congratulate Andrea on her victory and I’m committed to work with her in any way I can to help better this incredible city,” Loomis said, following his loss.

In the ward battles, Maureen Wilson remains councillor of Ward 1.

The winner of Ward 2 is Cameron Kroetsch, a former union president and owner of a small business, whose campaign focused on affordable housing and safer neighbourhoods.

Election results were revealed in Hamilton on Oct. 25.

Nrinder Nann returns as Ward 3 councillor, and the winner of Ward 4 is Tammy Hwang, a business development officer for the city of Hamilton. 

Ward 5’s winner is Matt Francis, a former broadcaster and current city employee. Francis promised lower taxes, safer communities, and upgrading some city services.

Ward 6 and 7 returned incumbents Tom Jackson and Esther Pauls, respectively.

In Ward 8, the ward that includes Mohawk College, John Paul Danko was re-elected.

Grateful for the confidence of Ward 8 Hamilton residents allowing me the honour to serve a second term,” Danko said. “We could not have done it without the support of our fantastic campaign team, my family and friends.”

Brad Clark was elected in Ward 9. This is Clark’s third non-consecutive term as councillor, as he had represented the ward from 2006-2014.

The winner of Ward 10 is Jeff Beattie, a resident of the Stoney Creek area who ran by promising to add new bus routes and buildings. 

Ward 11 will be represented by Mark Tadeson, who wants better road infrastructure and to keep the city as urban as possible. He barely beat out his competition, Nick Lauwers, by just 80 votes. 

Ward 12’s victor, Craig Cassar, said he was fairly confident in his win after knocking on over 10,000 doors to ensure people would vote. 

Winning Ward 13 is Alex Wilson, a firm believer in tenant rights who campaigned on a platform of economic development. 

Mike Spadafora won Ward 14 after running on a promise to make the West Mountain community safer. 

Finally, the winner of Ward 15 is Ted McMeekin, a former MPP who brings years of political experience to council on behalf of the Waterdown and Millgrove areas.


Most Popular

Recent Comments